Puerto Pollensa Travel Guide
Before You Go
Flights
Package Holidays
Latest Special Offers!
All-Inclusive Hotels
Hotels & Aparthotels
Private Villas/Apts to Rent
Villa Companies
Local Rental Agents
Cruises
Car Hire
Airport Transfers & Taxis
Travel Insurance
Late Deals!
Currency
Holiday Shopping
Background Info
Language
Books
Events & Fiestas
Climate & Weather
Art & Culture
Flora & Fauna
Links
Discussion Forum
Once You're There
Maps
Airport Directions
Tourist Information
Eating Out
Buses & Trains
Music & Entertainment
Excursions & Days Out
Shopping & Markets
Kids
Beaches
Walking, Cycling
Boat Charters
Sailing/Watersports
Market Place
Boats & Yachts
Property For Sale
Businesses For Sale
Property Services
Local Services
MouseMats & T-shirts
Computers
Internet Services
Virus Protection
PuertoPollensa.com discussion forums

Go Back   Pollensa Forum > GENERAL > Accessible Majorca

Accessible Majorca Information about Access in Pollensa and the rest of Majorca for people with limited mobility.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-09-2010, 19:14
**
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Leicester England
Posts: 15
Default Disabled Access Holiday accomodation

This was our first holiday abroad in Puerto Pollensa.
stayed in the apartments DAH.
Holiday all booked though the agent, flights, taxi to and from apartment, and accomodation.
Arrived at 11.30am only to find the previous people still in our apartment, rang DAH manager, and we were told some people don't go when they are meant too and to leave our bags and come back at 2pm! not a good start, we were both tired and parapligic husband needed a rest.
Got back, and cleaner was still cleaning the room, we had to wait another hour for her to finish.
Monkey pole that we ordered wasn't there so we had to chase that up. the room wasn't clean to normal standard. Bed too low for husband to transfer form wheelchair to bed, we had to put 2 mattresses onto one bed to get the wheelchair height.
we had a problem with a side transfer onto the toilet, and when we told the manager he just told us to use a toilet in one of the cafes or resturants!. this company is for the disabled traveller, have they no idea how hard it would be to carry and tranfer board, inflatable toilet seat plus all his medical stuff,into a cafe and use their toilet. We had to struggle with the one in our room for the whole week and it was far from ideal.
asked for assistance and a bulk head seat on plane, only to find on the way home they had booked my husband who can't stand at all, in row two window seat, it was a nightmare trying to get him across 3 seats, and quite destressing for him too.

but over all you couldn't fault the beauty of PP.
my only rant would be. If you are going to put in dropped curbs, drop them right down to road level and not with a 2 or 3 inch drop to road level. and if you go down a drop curb their should be one on the opposite side of the road to go back up.
and cars shouldn't be allowed to park over dropped curbs
put that right and it would be much easier for the wheelchair user and helper.
__________________
Jean
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 10-09-2010, 21:05
WRIGHTSTUFF's Avatar
*****
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Hampshire
Posts: 161
Default

Oh my god.. i really dont know what to say apart from. I am so sorry you had so many bad experiences.. I'm sure heads will roll over it and rightly so..
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-09-2010, 22:06
eleanor's Avatar
*****
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: on the coast in Essex
Posts: 1,737
Default

Jean - this is such a disappointment. You have been treated in a disgusting manner and this company should not be allowed to get away with it. The attitude is disgraceful especially as you went to great lengths to ensure all was ok prior to leaving for your trip. The fact that this company 'specialises' in holidays for the disabled makes this treatment even more unacceptable. It takes much planning and worry to travel abroad with a disabled person and these companies that trade on a specialism should ensure that you are treated properly and with respect. I feel very much for you and your husband and do hope that you intend to complain in the strongest terms to all concerned.

As a first holiday abroad, this experience was even more awful for you both. I am so pleased that you liked PP and valued it's beauty. Your comments regarding the mechanics of pushing someone in a wheelchair are certainly valid. The problem I think is that unless someone has that experience they just do not think about parking over dropped curbs. We have found this happens here in the UK too when we take a disabled relative out.
I hope this horrible experience has not put you off travelling abroad again. I'm sure there must be many companies who work with the disabled who will shudder at your experience.
__________________
Eleanor
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-09-2010, 10:18
pollensa's Avatar
Founder
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Colchester, UK
Posts: 3,814
Default

Jean,

I am really sorry that your first trip abroad with your disabled husband was a bad experience. As for DAH, I don't know whether you booked via our site or direct with them, but they have advertised with us for several years and we have never received any complaints. It was also recommended by one of the forum members here.

I can only suggest that you put all your complaints regarding the apartment facilities and airplane seating in writing direct to DAH.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-09-2010, 10:56
Sparky's Avatar
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Port de Pollenša
Posts: 17,430
Default

Jean i can only echo what others have said, i know how excited you were about going abroad for the first time but i do hope this has not put you off coming to PP again.
__________________
Living the dream in PP with my glass half full .
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-09-2010, 15:24
**
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Leicester England
Posts: 15
Question

Thanks everyone for your kind replies.

No It hasn't put me off going again, and in some ways a bad experience can be a good, because the worst scenario is out of the way, and I no longer have to fear the worst I have already gone through it.

I would just like to say, and I know its barking, but when we first went to the beach on the pinewalk. I sat and cried I have never seen anything so beautiful in my whole life, I couldn't believe that I would see something like that in my lifetime.
Big thank you to pp for making it so clean so pretty and awsome for our eyes to enjoy.

ps Who do I complain too, Michael, the director was the person I talked to on the phone and he wasn't that helpful. Is their someone higher anyone knows about?
__________________
Jean
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 11-09-2010, 15:59
Sparky's Avatar
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Port de Pollenša
Posts: 17,430
Default

Jean, it's not barking at all. My first ever holiday abroad was in PP in 1982, i also cried when i first saw that view and i just kept coming back year after year.
The next time i cried was December 3rd 2008, when we arrived in our car to start living our dream....it was cold and grey but after 3 days travelling that view was the most welcoming thing i had ever seen.
__________________
Living the dream in PP with my glass half full .
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 11-09-2010, 17:05
pollensa's Avatar
Founder
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Colchester, UK
Posts: 3,814
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by springjean View Post
ps Who do I complain too, Michael, the director was the person I talked to on the phone and he wasn't that helpful. Is their someone higher anyone knows about?
As far as I know Michael Davies is the director/owner. I'm only suggesting that you put all the issues you encountered in writing & send them to him even if you have already spoken to him.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 11-09-2010, 22:17
favie's Avatar
*****
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 644
Default

Hi Jean,

Sorry to hear about your ordeal regarding apartment and flight, just shouldn't happen, should it!! We put a lot of time and effort trying to get it right and of course the expense....for this to happen to you and hubby is just awful and hope your complaint is dealt with satisfactory: did you see this on their website?
Complaints
If there are any problems with the rental home or with our representative in Majorca, the customer must inform our representative immediately. If the matter is not resolved, the customer must follow up the complaint in writing to the Owner within 14 days of the end of the rental period. If the problem has not been reported as detailed in this clause then the Owner cannot accept responsibility for any claims or complaints.

Anyway, it was brilliant to hear the affect PP had on you inspite of the above! As Sparky says, not barking at all!! Does the same to most of us!
__________________
Favie

Last edited by favie; 11-09-2010 at 22:51.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 12-09-2010, 12:07
****
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: stockton on tees
Posts: 89
Default

In fairness to Mike, i have dealt with him and met him on several occassions and found him to be a very helpful person and used his apartment two years running. I stayed in the vicente buades one and found everything to be fine. I am not doubting what you say as i know how hard things are. My husband, like yours is a paraplegic and cannot stand. We used a shower/commode to access toilet and shower and althouth the bathroom was a little tight we managed. It is very daunting going on holiday for the first time and everything seems hard but believe you me things do get better and unfortunately you have to go with the flow and try to deal with the problems. We have flown many times and always find that John is put into middle or window seat, dont ask me why. we usually find airport staff very accomodating. I agree entirely about dropped curbs. PP is probs the worse. It bugs me when cars park over the drop curb as well. We found the easiest way round was to stay on the road. If you need any advice on wheelchair acc places just let me know. I will try my hardest to help. Hopefully you enjoyed the rest of what PP had to offer. Forgot to mention that Mike has a disabled son so would not take things for granted in his apartment. Pat

Last edited by Stocktonmackem; 12-09-2010 at 12:14. Reason: forgot to add something
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 12-09-2010, 17:43
**
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Leicester England
Posts: 15
Default

oh, ok, thanks I will do that, cheers
__________________
Jean
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 18-09-2010, 11:28
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 2
Default

My name is Michael Davis and Jean booked through my company "Disabled Access Holidays" I bought this apartment sometime ago as I have a disabled son. I want to reply to the comments left as I feel Jean has strongly misrepresented the accommodation and service provided.

Firstly this apartment is 2 mins from the square and 2 mins from the Pine walk, its a brilliant location. There are no entry steps to the Apt block, it has a walk in shower and a bathroom/toilet that can be accessed by wheelchairs.Its got a nice wide corridor, small but accessible balcony and we provide a hoist and shower chair FOC. Have rented it out for last four years feedback is good and lots of people rebook when they return. Its unique I don't know of any other accessible apt as good as which is in the centre of PP.

It is on the website that entry on day of arrival is after 2, but we always try to get clients in as early as poss, its difficult on change over day. The Monkey Pole is not permanently in the apartment, Gary brought it down later that day. There are four beds in the apartment and three have different heights, I don't have a problem with clients doubling up mattresses if they like, everyones needs are different, there is plenty of choice though.

This apartment has a good accessible toilet/bathroom, clients have found showering and toileting good in this apartment. I know that being disabled will always bring its challenges as each disability is different, for the vast vast majority this apartment works exceptionally well.

I requested the assistance from the airline for Jean and it was provided, seating is always at the discretion of the airline.

After four years and many great feedbacks I am seriously disappointed that this apartment and our services have been described in this way. This is a great apartment which is accessible and in a great location. I have stayed in it with my disabled son and he loves it!

Jean if you break down your complaints it was to lower a bed and hard to transfer to the toilet, the bed you raised in height very simply and i am very sorry if your husband found the transfer hard - But Jean i saw nothing positive in your comments only negative, I think thats wrong!

All the best


Mike Davis
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 18-09-2010, 12:00
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 2
Default

The reason why airlines sometimes won't seat disabled people in an aisle seat is that if they have poor upper body control then they can potentially lean into and obstruct the aisle. This is then a problem for staff and other passengers and can be dangerous for the disabled traveller. Airline staff are always thinking about getting everyone off in an emergency so they don't want one passenger making it difficult for others to get out. The airline staff don't know each persons disability so they take the safe option and put them in the middle or by a window.
Its tough but if your with a disabled traveller then speak up, tell them at check-in what you want!
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 18-09-2010, 12:19
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 6
Default

Hi Jean,

What an awful experience for you. We have a son in law who is in a wheelchair and have in the past booked holidays with Villa Parade, who are very helpful and understanding. We spoke directly with their office in P.P. to find out which villas would be suitable. They also have a couple that are specially 'fitted out' in fact one has a hoist for the swimming pool.
It might be worth you looking at what they offer. Do try PP again as I am sure it will
be worth it. There are lots of folk that return year after year because it is just so lovely.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 19-09-2010, 10:44
****
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: stockton on tees
Posts: 89
Default

Having stayed in Mikes apartment two years running i can agree with everything he says. As i said in my earlier posts when you're disabled you have differant problems that you have to find a way round not just give in and expect everyone to do it for you. I have many holidays abroad and in this country and it is very difficult go get everything you need but Mikes apartment is certainly one of the best.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
disabled traveller click off Accessible Majorca 10 15-09-2010 16:36
Thompson for the disabled eleanor Accessible Majorca 2 17-10-2009 15:14
Thompson for the disabled eleanor Flights to Palma de Mallorca, Majorca 0 16-10-2009 22:32
disabled facilities lovepp Accessible Majorca 10 30-06-2009 22:07
hotels for the disabled bilko264 Accessible Majorca 3 14-04-2009 10:51


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 00:25.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0
(c) Copyright Holiday Webs Ltd 2011